12th Annual Asylum and Refugee Law National Moot Court Competition

2018-2019 LaLSA Moot Court sitting in a classroom at UC Davis School of Law

On March 2nd and March 3rd, 2019, Columbia Law School's LaLSA Moot Court Team participated in the 12th Annual Asylum & Refugee Law National Moot Court Competition hosted by UC Davis. Our Moot Court program sent three outstanding teams, and the competing Columbia 1Ls bested 2Ls and 3Ls to achieve phenomenal success!

After a thrilling CLS vs. CLS final round, Maddi Durbin '21 and Freya Jamison '21 won first place, and Prakriti Luthra '21 and Daniel Palacios '21 came in second place. Marielle Paloma Greenblatt '21 and Cameron Molis '21 finished as third place semifinalists.

Additionally, Cameron and Maddi received 1st and 2nd Best Oral Advocate, respectively, and Team 102 (Maddi and Freya) took home the award for 3rd Best Brief. Overall, this year's results represent the best-ever performance by Columbia Law in the history of its participation in the competition!

The team benefited from the coaching of Elizabeth Rivera Cruz '20, Tyler Lee '20, Ellie Dupler '20, Delia Arias De Leon '20, Grace Assaye '20, Nestor Almeida '20, and faculty advisor Alberto Rodriguez. The team would also like to thank alumni and current students for their assistance in practice moots and judging January's internal competition.

To view the rest of our pictures, check out our Facebook Photo Album!