The Columbia Society of International Law (CSIL) is one of Columbia Law School's largest student organizations.  Through CSIL, students in the Columbia Law community gain access to prominent scholars and practitioners in the fields of international, foreign affairs, and national security law.  CSIL organizes weekly events at which students may meet with scholars and practitioners or hear them speak on their field of expertise.  CSIL additionally organizes intra-school programming focused on strengthening the CSIL community and assisting CSIL members in taking advantage of the international opportunities and education available at Columbia Law.

CSIL Executive Board 2021-22

  • Co-Presidents: Molly Bodurtha & Satyen Gupta
  • Speaker Series Committee Chairs: Mélodie Han & Tanner Larkin
  • Firm Networking Committee Chairs: Alastair Pearson & Rayne Sullivan
  • Public Interest & Human Rights Committee Chairs: Samantha Daisy & Anna Norman
  • Professional Development Committee Chairs: Victoria Gu & Kanishka Kewlani
  • Friedmann Conference Committee Chairs: Farida Hassan & Zoe Zheng
  • International Programs Committee Chairs: Leah Dorn & Christina Schiciano
  • Outreach & Membership Committee Chair: Abigail Greene & Lexi Valas

Becoming a Member & Benefits of Membership

To become a member of CSIL, students must pay dues for the 2021-22 year.  Dues for one year are $10 per person.  Dues for two years are $15 per person.  Dues for three years are $20 per person.  Applications to the CSIL Executive Board and Committees are open only to CSIL members and will open in September.

Being a member of CSIL entitles students to:

  • Early or enhanced access to speaker series events and networking events
  • Priority RSVPs for firm lunches
  • Participation in CSIL's peer mentorship program
  • Participation in CSIL's language exchange programs
  • Access to CSIL social events
  • Access to CSIL outline bank

Sponsors for 2019-2020

CSIL would like to thank the following law firms for their generous support during the 2019-2020 academic year:

Silver Sponsors

  • Cleary Gottlieb LLP
  • Clifford Chance LLP
  • Linklaters LLP
  • Simpson Thacher LLP
  • Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
  • White & Case LLP

Bronze Sponsors

  • Debevoise & Plimpton LLP