Welcome letter from Co-Presidents

Welcome to the 2020-2021 academic year at CLS!

To the incoming 1Ls/LLMs and Transfer students - welcome to Columbia Law School! We are so excited to have you join us! And to our returning CLWA members - a warm welcome back! 

What a wild ride 2020 has been. To meet the unique challenges of the coronavirus pandemic, a heated presidential election, and the ongoing demonstrations following the horrific killings of Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, George Floyd, and others, we have recommitted ourselves to CLWA’s founding principles of inclusion, empowerment, and equality for all women at CLS.

We know this academic year will be like no other. But we are confident that despite the challenges, together, we will make this year one to remember!

This year, we have launched eight new committees to provide dedicated resources and support to CLWA’s priorities. We are particularly excited to introduce our new Inclusion & Empowerment Initiative (IEI) to drive our goal of supporting women-students of color; our Judiciary Committee to demystify the clerkship process and to connect you with prominent CLS alumnae who have served in the judiciary; and our Mental Health Initiative (MHI) to destigmatize mental health at CLS and in the legal profession. 

We also share this excitement about revamping our mentorship program and database, and celebrating the legacies of the law school’s pioneering women through our HERstory exhibit. 

We invite you--as CLWA members past and present--to join us in creating a new, more inclusive, and more engaged community for all women at CLS. As such, we have opened these Committees for General Body Members. We also invite you to contribute to our Inclusion & Empowerment Blog and the HERstory exhibit. We hope you will join us!

Above all, we want to emphasize that we are here to support you. Tell us what you want from CLWA and we will do our best to provide that for you. We want to know your ideas, your concerns, and how you are doing. Please reach out to us! 



Nia Yancopoulos ‘23 & Paula Zampietro ‘22

CLWA Co-Presidents